Project Cicero is a non-profit organization with the primary goals of creating and enhancing classroom and school libraries in under-resourced New York City public schools. Operating under a fiscal sponsorship agreement with The New York Society Library, Project Cicero benefits from the Library’s 501(c)(3) status.

How Project Cicero Works

Project Cicero collects new and gently used books for children and young adults through book drives run by 100+ New York City independent, public and parochial schools.

Collected books are transported to the distribution site where hundreds of student, parent and teacher volunteers unpack, sort, and display the books. Teachers from  under-resourced NYC public schools pre-register online to attend the annual distribution and take for free as many books as they can transport back to their respective classrooms/libraries.

Project Cicero encourages children to help children. Each year hundreds of volunteering students help make Project Cicero a success assisting with their own schools’ book drives and helping on-site during the annual event. Project Cicero gives community service recognition for their participation.

If your school or business would like to participate in Project Cicero, please email   info@projectcicero.org

Executive Committee

Co-Chairs: Robin Easton, Susan Robbins, Jennifer Wendy

Board Members: Lynn Abraham, Sabrina Allan, Stephanie Benson, Victoria Weld Bergstrom, Beth Bracken, Michelle Cherande,  Andrea Labov Clark, Britt Densmore, Roz Walrath, Susan Fisher, Joan Fishman, Donna Gray, Randi Levy, Ellen Hay Newman, Christy Porter, Cynthia Rothman, Mathilde Sanson, Amy Schrader, Carrie Silberman, Chang Spaide, Linda Rothenberg Stein

Co-Chairs Emeritus: Laureine Greenbaum, Silda Wall


Laureine Greenbaum, Susan Robbins, Fawn White, Silda Wall with Children for Children Foundation

Professional Advisory Committee

 New York Society Library: Sara Holliday, Susan Vincent Molinaro, Doreen Pastore, Madjalia Seynou, Diane Srebnick

Student Co-Chairs

Baruch College Campus High School – Ikra Ali
Dalton – Zoe Easton, Sasha Galbraith, Marcus Lambroza
Fieldston – Maddie Martinez
Friends Seminary – Maya Martinez
Horace Mann – Katie Beckler
Packer – Julia Hettleman
Regis – Luke McGibbon, Charlie Scheuermann
Trinity – James Bergstrom
UNIS – Siri Burton

Major Supporters